Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Scholarship Presentation!

The moment I have been waiting for years. The awarding of the first scholarship in my name to an incoming senior majoring in elementary, secondary or music education. This is at my alma mater, the State University of New York College at Fredonia.

But what did I want to put into blipdom for an enduring memory of the day. The day for which I traveled across this vast country?

Dr. J. Patrick Murphy. The professor who made a lasting and enduring impression on me. Not because he taught me to become a great reading teacher, which was what he was supposed to do, but because of his passion in trying to make me become one!

It has been a long time since I walked out of that oral comprehensive exam waiting room in December 1980, with him and two other professors, knowing I had just passed and achieved my Master's degree. I hadn't seen him since. And I may not see him again.

The choice of a blip today wasn't that hard, after all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.