Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

How do you know…..

……that you are in Scotland?!

I travelled all day today.

Truth to tell, I finally washed and polished my boots at 1015 and Margret (next door) was collecting me at 1055.

We were in Hexham in good time, got chatting and I nearly missed the train!

It was very cold, but the train from Carlisle was very hot.

Then the bus to the airport. I sat next to an older woman, born and bred on Islay. She had been in Glasgow for a hospital appointment. She entertained me with talk of her life and the journey was over all too quickly.

I was far too early at the airport so waiting was quite tedious. The plane was tiny, but the tail wind pushed us on our way and we arrived early.

Our table at The Royal Hotel was strewn with rose petals. Not entirely appropriate for our party but the food was excellent.

Tomorrow we travel to Harris.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.