WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Tower block

One of the less attractive parts of La Herradura. I think this pile-up of villas elbowing each other to get the best view, in a mish-mash of styles, is quite ugly. Maybe it won't be there long ... not in the photo is the building at the bottom of the slope riddled with large fissures, surrounded by a protective fence. Elsewhere, many abandoned constructions, victims of the great property crash in 2008. There were cabramontes grazing among the tumbled breezeblocks but my photos were rubbish.

We were here because we were looking for a beach S had spotted recently on a group walk. It took a bit of finding, and once we got close it turned out it was a scramble down a precipitous and slippery slope. I hadn't brought my walking poles so I sat down and looked at the scenery while S slithered down to investigate. It looks like hippy central -- he found a juggler and a Basque guy slacklining. It is a rocky beach, and with the wind as it is at present large breakers were crashing onto it. There are plenty of other pleasant beaches that don't have these issues, so I think I'll be giving it a miss.

S went to play table tennis with the other S this evening. Gracia, the owner of the house, had earlier given me four massive lemons and three large avocados, insisting that one of the latter had to be eaten today. I concurred, so I made smashed avocado on toast for supper when S got back. Delicious, it could not be fresher!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.