WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Vigilance

Yup, it's EBCB* time again! I did take some photos yesterday but they were all terrible. We went to the beach and sunbathed! First time in the three weeks we've been here. Admittedly I wore all my clothes (S was more carefree) but I did dip my feet in the water.

In the evening we were invited to S and T's for dinner. They've rented an apartment right on the seafront, with a view of the beach from the small balcony. We managed to sit out for aperos, but retreated indoors for dinner. It was a nice evening out. We'd gone down on the bus, and Almuñecar taxis came up trumps again when it was time to leave. S phoned for one at about 11:30 expecting a bit of a wait. "Two minutes," said the driver, and he wasn't lying. We just had time to grab our stuff, say a hurried goodbye, and get downstairs before he came cruising round the corner.

I made sourdough pizzas for lunch today. As you may conclude from the fact that I'm not blipping them, they were not a success. The dough looked very good after its 24-hour fermentation, but I tore it while stretching into circles and was reduced to cutting bits off the edge to patch them up. S accepted a small part of the blame, because he bought tomate frito for the topping. This has the colour and consistency of Campbell's condensed tomato soup, so the pizzas had a lurid orange hue and were disconcertingly sweet. Afterwards I read the list of ingredients on the carton, many of which were sugar, and threw the rest of it away. The dough definitely had potential though, and I've frozen half of it.

So here's Mystère keeping an eye on the neighbourhood. He has settled in quite well now but is still very alert to any unexpected sound and tends to keep fairly close to the house (fine by me).

* Emergency Black Cat Blip

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.