WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Splish splash

S went on a hardcore walk with the Almuñecar group today, leaving the house at 7 a.m. I did things my style -- after a leisurely breakfast, Wordle, and doing a load of washing, I walked down to the beach at Cotobro, then along to the Playa del Muerto.  It's been a mild, warm day with hazy sun, but the waves are still doing their stuff after the wind of the last couple of weeks. The extra was an accident -- I didn't mean to take a photo -- but it has a certain je ne sais quoi that I rather liked.

Walking back it would have been rude not to stop at the Balcon de Cotobro for a drink on the terrace. There were no other customers, which surprised me given that it was just before lunch on a Sunday. But when I left I realised the hotel 50 metres away was open (first time it's been open at this time of year) and it has a spacious and attractive terrace where lots of people were sitting, as opposed to the Balcon's strip of pavement.

I hiked back up the hill, had lunch, and then it was such a lovely day that I sat out on the terrace and read my book while Mystère sprawled beside me in the sun. A nice relaxing day.

S got back at about 6:30 -- 20 km and 500 metres of climbing. When they got to their destination, Alhama de Granada, the carnival was in full swing. "What was it like?" I asked. "Didn't see it really, because we were going from bar to bar." Shades of the Pollos sin Cabeza ... there wasn't time for a slap-up meal though. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.