Desperately seeking

By clickychick

For The Over 70s

If you live in the UK and are between 70 and 79, read on, it's for you!

When I turned 70 last year it came with cards and cake and Prosecco. Now, at 71, I realise that life comes with ailments, glasses of water and paracetamols. 3 weeks ago today I noticed a row of small red spots on my breast. I thought an insect had managed to get under my clothing and bitten me. 2 days later I caught sight of my back in a mirror and saw more of the spots on my shoulder blade and under my arm.

Luckily I had a call booked with my doctor that day to talk about my knee and, in passing, I told her I had shingles. She asked for photos and agreed. Before the end of the day, I had been prescribed a week's supply of antivirals.

If shingles is caught within 3 days the treatment can reduce the length of illness and reduce ongoing shingles pain. 

What I didn't know previously was that for us in our 70s there is a vaccine to help protect us from it.

Yes, it is related to chickenpox but NO, it is nothing like chicken pox! It is like a scald or burn that I'm still feeling the pain from 3 weeks later. It stings, it pricks, it stabs. I'm taking a dose of paracetamol 3 or 4 times a day. I'm one of the lucky ones, it didn't get onto my face and near my eyes which can be very serious.

What I'm saying to you is:- shingles is dreadful. Please ask your doctor whether you ought to have the vaccine.

Over these 3 weeks, I've been feeling guilty about complaining about pain with all the suffering that is going on around the world, but I have come to see how important it is that we look after ourselves when we can. It's only by feeling well and strong that we can do things, however small, to help others.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.