Take it easy...

Wednesday is Greek day... homework catch-up in the morning, plus some rather hasty revision, and then an evening class on Zoom from 6 to 7.30. In between, I picked Eben up from school and took him to his swimming lesson.
We had a treat today, in the class: an intro to the 'Easy Greek' channel on YouTube. As the caption says, the helpful tutor will speak slowly. And he does. I can manage at least some of it without the subtitles. Yay!
This episode was all about the port of Piraeus, the large and busy port city within the Athens area. Useful, as - what a treat! - I'll be visiting Marianna's parents there in early April. This trip has been much-deferred, as Jack, Marianna and I originally planned to go in 2020... Covid caused that to be cancelled.  That would have been a journey by train and ferry, at least for me. For many years now, I've managed to avoid taking any flights (for environmental reasons). But this time, our diaries only allow for a week's absence from Sheffield, and so we plan to fly. I haven't travelled outside the UK since 2018, so this really will be a treat.
In other news, I've been waiting to be offered a GP appointment, to continue the discussion about some gut troubles for which there's no explanation as yet (despite various tests) The first available appointment is in a month's time. Sigh. I feel utterly powerless, watching the NHS being reduced to something way below adequate. And of course I feel anxious too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.