Problem-solving

A good day, in terms of tackling some mundane practical issues.
I went out to Endcliffe Park early, to one of the kingfisher-watching spots. I did see a kingfisher, and enjoyed watching him (?) catch a couple of tiny fish. But his chosen spot was quite dark and the photos weren't good.  I had better luck with a nuthatch on the way back to the car.
When I reviewed the images, I found diagonal lines in the background on many of them. I thought at first that this was down to me not holding the camera steady; yet the lines were only in some parts of the images. Thank goodness for Dr Google. It turns out the kind of UV filter that this secondhand lens came with can cause exactly this problem. I took it off, and all is well.
The second practical challenge was getting to grips with the tree pruning kit that Richard and I bought recently, to avoid having to climb ladders in the garden. This gadget has an extending pole and a super-sharp pair of giant loppers that clip onto the end, with a pulley system to work them. I love a gadget, but was a little intimidated by this one, even though I had chosen it (on the strength of a review by a woman gardener in the Guardian, Alys Fowler). In fact it works perfectly, and I finished pruning both the fig tree and the quince during this sunny afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.