Catching up with friends

A quick backblip, for Wednesday...
I'm slowly crawling out of my pandemic shell, and picking up the threads with friends I haven't seen in person since the cycle of lockdowns and other precautions began.
This is Frenchie. I got to know her  and her human, Stephanie, when I  took on a pony of my own - Milly - in 2014.  For long periods Frenchie and Milly were stabled in the same places, and Stephanie and I helped each other out with yard duties.  As previous blips have summarised, by summer  2020 I had realised that I would need to find Milly a new home; juggling her care with looking after grandchildren just wasn't working any more. 

I've been relieved to shed the pressures of all that juggling, and to see that Milly is doing well in her new family. I still miss the basic experience of being around horses though. I don't miss riding; stiffness in my hip joints was beginning to make that difficult by the time Milly moved on. But that sense of calm that comes from just standing next to a horse, breathing quietly together... that I do miss.
So today it was good to see Frenchie and Stephanie; to stroke Frenchie's withers; to reconnect with those feelings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.