An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Spring in my step...

Set the alarm for 7.30am and was delighted to see it was daylight when I woke up :-)

I like the light mornings.  They encourage me to get up!  Very easy to think about sneaking an extra half an hour in bed when it's still dark outside.

D spent the morning doing the household finances, declaring at 1pm he'd had enough oh dear! and suggesting we go to the golf club for lunch.  No argument from me.

We sat at a table overlooking the course and in the afternoon sunshine it looked really lovely.  The table next to us had three "older" ladies having their lunch.  I am always fascinated by the older ladies ( by older I mean over 75) who lunch here as they are always immaculately dressed, drinking white or rosé wine and having the most interesting conversations!  Today's three didn't disappoint!  lol

After lunch we spent some time in the garden looking at the areas that were cleared last year ready to be replanted this year.  Neither D nor I have a green finger between us so we are having a visit from a local landscaper on Friday to discuss the purpose of the areas and the kind of plants we might want.  I am quite excited about it as in our almost 11 years here, we have enjoyed the hard work of the previous owners who were keen gardeners, but this will give us a chance to put our own stamp on the garden.  

A couple of years ago we (I say we, we got a man in!  :-) had to cut down a tall tree that stood in the lawn and have been trying to decide what to do with the stump.  On our recent visit to Loch Lomond I saw a garden with a similar tree stump and they had hollowed it out, filled it with soil and planted it with shrubs.  It looked lovely and very organic so I would like to do the same with ours.

I was so happy to see the little patch of snowdrops and crocuses are now through.  The daffodils will soon follow and then the bluebells.  I need to plant more spring bulbs in autumn as there are definitely less flowers coming through than when we first moved here.  

Despite the sunshine it was quite nippy so came inside to the warmth of the studio and a mug of coffee.  No painting today, taking stock of my loose watercolour paper.  I have more than I thought and a few different brands so won't have to re-stock for a while.  That made me happy as it's not cheap! 

Spent another hour or so on my new crochet project.  Having a bit of a dilemma about the colour combinations.  Will think about it more and make a final decision tomorrow (my motto don't delay, procrastinate today  has been strong in me today!!) 

Tesco order is done.  Menus planned from tomorrow through to next Thursday, dinners and lunches!  Even remembered to buy Easter Eggs for Anna and Faith who will be here next week.

Relishing a quiet couple of days before my belated birthday celebration at the weekend  (postponed from when Alan was in hospital) then the rest of the week with This rowdy lot! :-) coming to stay.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.