An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

If you want to get ahead....

Get a hat! 

Yesterday I was a lady who lunches, today I was a lady who brunches :-)

Another morning of sunshine and blue sky so we headed to Gloagburn for brunch.  Eggs Benedict, yum.

When we arrived these plant pots made me laugh.  They reminded me of hats and I immediately thought of Bill and Ben the flowerpot men, although I'm not sure why as their bodies were pots not their hats! 

Talking of hats, I decided today's weather and our brunch location gave me the perfect excuse to wear my new hat and scarf  (in extras :-) gifted to me by my friend and fellow blipper LeeAnne.  The hat was made by her client and new friend Moira, who is 90 years old.  I am renaming her Moira the Magnificent, because she is!  She makes these amazing hats then pairs them with a perfect matching scarf.  I teamed mine with a cerise pink top.  I hope Moira approves :-)

Despite saying we would not leave via the farm shop, we did, and I am glad as a posh Perthshire lady approached me as I perused the children's books and complimented me on my hat!  She named a very posh local boutique and asked me if I'd bought it there.  I took great pleasure in saying no, it was hand made by a wonderful lady in Edinburgh :-))). I was also happy as I spotted a book that is perfect for Esme.  She is obsessed by maps and I am sure she will love The Sticker Atlas of Scotland.  I will give it to her with her Easter egg :-))

Once home D and I chose some of my paintings to go in the ensuite of the wee guest room.  I've painted one acrylic painting for the bedroom and need another two (they're small) so completed another one and started the final one, stopping when the light began to fade.  Hopefully finish it tomorrow and D will get them hung before this weekend's guests arrive.

As I painted I very much enjoyed drinking coffee from my Harrison Ford mug and eating some of Gloagburn's chocolate raisins :-)))

Had our final Mindful Chef dinner this evening (have paused delivery of next week's order due to friends staying) of ribeye steak with honey, mustard dressing, onion rings and potato and carrot fries.  It was delicious.  

We've enjoyed the last 7 weeks of Mindful Chef but are thinking of trying Gousto as lots of the MC meals are accompanied by lentils, spices, spinach and kale, all of which we enjoy, but there is a limit to how much of these ingredients we can eat and getting a wee bit scunnerd.

Gousto was recommended by blip pal Hel and looking at the menus, they seem a bit more balanced.  There's no contract with Mindful Chef so we can cancel at any time.  Will decide next weekend.

  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.