atoll

By atoll

A Breakfast Smell of Jasmine and Buffalos

I am trying to ease myself back in gently....but I got up too early this morning at 07:30 to watch my usual early re-run of BBC Match of the Day having kept away from all of the football scores on Saturday. Only problem with my recurring cunning plan this week was that because all the games were to be the very last of the season (and for some potentially triggering the extremes of either qualification next year for European trophies or relegation), all were being played today simultaneously - and so MOTD was on tonight only. Do-oh!

Still, as a positive I was up early, did all last nights washing up (MrsB's birthday meal) and watched BBC Click which informed me that following the 30th April just gone which marked the 20th birthday of Sir Tim Berners-Lee's World Wide Web, his first ever website and URL has since been re-created by CERN on http://info.cern.ch.

Over breakfast in the conservatory (Buffalo and smoked bacon sausages with egg I kid you not!), this got me to thinking what might be the case in another 20 years. As I wondered, I spotted our lovely Jasmine plant, currently filling the room with such sweet-smelling aromas. Could we ever get a scratch-n-sniff website ,where smells could be transferred over the interweb I thought? I was just about to Patent the idea and write "you heard it here first" when I spotted this on How technology is slowly developing its sense of smell. Damn and blast, someone got there before me.

In her usual way of bringing me back down to reality, just as I took this rather average shot of our plant, MrsB informed me that she was going to cut some flowers today, as back in Maldives she used to place Jasmine in her drawers to make her knickers smell nice.....Mmm, how can technology ever beat that Sir Tim?

In deference to my sausages, Bob Marley had the answer in Buffalo Soldiers:

...I mean it, when I analyze the stench
To me it makes a lot of sense




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.