Views from 120 Fenchurch Street

Today was....... interesting.  Lots of walking and bus travel.   

First I got a bus to Fenchurch Street.  I originally wanted to visit the Sky Garden but you had to book online and it was fully booked.  So I went to the rooftop Garden at 120 Fenchurch Street. Its 15 floors up with wonderful views.  Took loads of photos.  London was freezing cold today and windy and it was a bit wild up on the roof so I didn't stay long.

Next I walked to Leadenhall Market and Borough Market.  Then I think I got another bus to......... somewhere. And walked around mostly getting lost. I have no sense of direction and Google maps drive me mad. Eventually I reached the river and walked along past The Globe theatre to The Tate Modern.  Popped in there to use the facilities and get warmed up. It was very cold and windy today...... something I wasn't expecting in London.

Then I decided to get the bus back to King's Cross.  Checked on Google to find out which bus I needed. Number 63.  So I got on the number 63 and off I went.  What I didn't know was I was on the right bus....... but going in the wrong direction.  Once I realised I thought it best to stay on the bus till the terminus and then get the bus going back.  The terminus proved to be a long way off. The bus I was already on was the one going back to King's Cross so I stayed on. I explained to the driver what had happened. I had another ride through Peckham and finally got to King's Cross.  Instead of just a journey of 11 stops mine was 59 stops.

I nipped into King's Cross station to get some snacks in M&S and a sausage roll in Greggs. Loads of Newcastle supporters around King's Cross all singing their hearts out. TOON TOON, BLACK AND WHITE Army!

TV this evening.... Ant and Dec and a film on Channel 4 - Military Wives. Emotional at times. I enjoyed it.

Main blip is view from rooftop garden. Extras are sculptures I saw at Aldgate Square. It's called Earthling and features a group of gastropods lounging around on a heap of stones. Each one has a human limb in place of the usual slimy body. The other collage is of Leadenhall Market, The Globe Theatre, the ruins of the Great Hall of Winchester Palace and a view of the River Thames.

Steps today 13,344

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.