In The Mist's Of Time

Well it was back to work today with a trip to Leeds so I took my remote wireless remote control and set the timer before leaving Edinburgh to take a shot every 30 seconds for 40 minutes and then check the shots out when I got home to see what I had captured and in places the fog was bad near the East Coast and when it really gets thick that is where a drivers route knowledge comes to the fore as we need to know exactly where we are as you have speed variations,level crossings and signals now in the daylight with the fog it can be hard enough but you can still pick things out just but at night in the dark it is appalling as you are totally blind but still required to run at line speed although between Berwick and Newcastle there is 28 level crossing where when we are two signal away from each crossing the signals are changing as the signaller watches the train on his panel and lowers the barriers just before your two signals out but in thick fog you can't see if there are changing so this is where a driver can deliberately reduce speed and cause a delay due to not having the full braking distance especially when you are doing up to 125mph but I tend to run at 100 max as if I do get a single Yellow I have enough room to stop at the Red as you don't know if the barriers are down and that could be a problem so although the driving side can be rather straight forward after years of experience it's the knowledge of routes and signals and exactly where you are in weather situations like this as you have to be spot on as to where you are at all times and it was the first time in a year I have had to wear my driving specs as they were a bit gritty today although my specs are mainly just for checking all my dials and gauges as I have a slight blur in my right eye when it gets tired driving in fog as your straining your eyes more anyway now you know and this shot was heading south between Longniddry and Drem at Ballencrieff next to the big roundabout on the right although it wasn't to foggy here so know you know and movie for the day is "In The Electric Mist 2009" See Ya

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.