Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Hissing swan

Another sunny but chilly day. Next week it is all change, I wonder if we will get snow here as is forecast?

When I went past Black Pond with Xena on my walk this morning, I noticed that two swans seem to have settled in the area. They came right up to the edge of the pond, maybe hoping for some food, but they did not like Xena who was standing next to me so were hissing at her. She seemed curious and just stared at them! 

I finished my packing today, I have a very heavy suitcase and a very heavy camera bag, it's not ideal and I have tried to leave out certain things but going to such a cold and icy location one cannot do without certain things. I see that next week the forecast for Senja is icy blizzards every day with heavy snow and strong winds - sounds dreadful, not sure what photos we will get in those conditions!

While I was packing the gate bell went and it was the police - it seems that last night our neighbour was burgled while they were asleep, and the police wanted to see if anything was picked up on our security camera that covers the driveway into the road. We went through the camera recordings but there was nothing useful there. It is very unsettling to know that this burglary has taken place in our road, as it is a quiet road tucked away with no easy escape routes. 

Tomorrow is a very early start, I need to be at Heathrow airport by 5am and it is a long day of travelling as we have a nearly 4 hour wait at Oslo airport to connect to Tromso, as our flights were changed after booking. I doubt I will be able to keep up with journals as we usually have no down time at all, but I will try to sprinkle stars and hearts when I can.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.