I spent an hour at The Climbing Unit, then went home for a bit before driving to Turnditch to join a walk with my Ramblers. It started at 1.30pm and was planned to get back to The Tiger pub for "pie night", to which about twenty members were going. I wasn't going for the pies, I just wanted a walk and it was an area that John and I had explored during our lockdown walks.

We were late setting off as someone was held up in Derby traffic, and then we were slowed by Jenny not being sure of the route, but there were a couple who knew where she was meant to be going better than she did so all was okay. But, with the late start and the walk being a bit longer than planned, we became concerned about finishing before it got dark, and there were only two of us with a headtorch!

There were a couple of rather boggy fields, one of which was more watermeadows, but by keeping to the very edge and clinging to the fence we got past it. Mostly surprisingly dry underfoot though. Several fields were surrounded by deer fencing, and we encountered a farmed herd who looked as if they couldn't believe we were coming through! 

The pace quickened and, with a couple of hills still to climb, I found it a bit difficult - I'm happy with a good pace but let's just say that the second half of the walk wasn't as enjoyable as the first!

We made it back just before it was properly dark, I got in the car and the pie nighters went to the pub. I got home at about 6.30pm and did my stretches for the second time today!

Two extras

10.12 miles
1,056 ft elevation gain 
3 hrs 47 mins

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.