pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

A Man Called dunkyc

I’d had quite a busy morning, so was grateful when lunchtime came. 

My intention had been to go for a run, but I was feeling some uncomfortable twinges in my knee and decided against it, choosing instead to have a long overdue walk around and over Kendal Castle. This would also give me the chance to take a look at the parking situation around a prospective house that my parents had taken a shine to (the parking looked fine and the house looked nice).

It’s a nice view from up-top (see extras) and I did linger a little while to take in the view and enjoy the fresh air which always helps clear the head.

The walk back through the cemetery isn’t quite as maudlin as it sounds because there was an abundance of croci to enjoy (main) before once again reaching tarmac. On my way back to the house I passed a grandad out pushing a newborn in a very grand pram, he smiled at me and looked incredibly proud. 

After work, I took The Eldest up to see my sister’s new place and then on our return to the house, I whipped up a stir-fry as Thursday Night Movie Club returned with a viewing of A Man Called Otto, which I highly recommend. It’s a mark of Tom Hanks’ gift that even when depicting a curmudgeon, you can’t help but like him. Nothing much happens in the film, but it is surprisingly compelling and touching. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.