Drink your tea!

The Eastern towhee is another bird we see, and even more frequently hear, in the spring. Sometimes called the "drink your tea" bird because of the sound of its song, the towhee is very likely to be seen scratching in the leaf litter on the forest floor. Today, however, I spotted this one singing from the branch of a tree on top of the sledding hill. I felt very lucky because I have been trying to capture a good photo of the towhee since I first heard the song in early spring. It is an elusive bird, very hard to photograph in my experience. Of course, maybe that's just me, but I am very glad I can finally check it off on my list for this spring. You can see two other views here, along with a squirrel having a drink of water. All-in-all, a successful photo walk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.