Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Cathedral faces 2

It's been a wet grey day today so I thought it might be a good moment to collect a few more cathedral faces.  These two were fairly difficult to get at because the work on the medieval floor tiles beneath this screen has started.  The tiles are being assessed for damage (and then hopefully repaired or strengthened in some way). 

This screen, which is in the retro-choir, has painted icons attached to it but I was able to get some shots inbetween them.  The one on the left here is tiny - probably about 3 cms high, and the one on the right at the far end of the screen is bigger, maybe 3 times that size.

I'm guessing that much of the screen is medieval as the right hand figure is a green man and I doubt if he'd find a niche in the cathedral much later (I'm still betting on a green man, though see Oliophoto's comment below).  The one on the left is, oddly, half hidden behind the screen.  I've never noticed it before.

In extras are four figures on Bishop Fox's chantry chapel.  He died in 1528.  There are actually 12 along the front and the smashed remains of a few more on the sides.  Because these front ones are fairly pristine I'm guessing they are replacements, put in at some point - maybe after Oliver Cromwell's soldiers rode their horses into the cathedral (in 1642?) and smashed the place up.

So that's it - history lesson over.  Actually, I find that when I come out of the cathedral after looking at so many faces I've never noticed I find myself in a state of disbelief that a place I thought I knew reasonably well is somewhere I apparently don't know much about at all!  Hey ho!

Enjoy your evening's lovely blippers  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.