Bentinck Street

This is the street on the other side of our block so I come up here for a short walk when I’m busy (cooking tea). There is a supermarket ( Woolworths etc) in the building you can see. Directly across the street is another supermarket complex, another Woolworths. They are both busy so they have kept both and are now called the New Woolies and the Old Woolies. 

I think the street was named for Lord William Bentinck who was a British Soldier and was the first Governor General of India from 1834. That’s a long way from Bathurst. Many of our place names are being changed back to the indigenous names but of course there wasn’t a street here in those days so it will stay the same. 

The reason I took the photo was the smoke haze you can see in the distance. There is a large fire burning in rugged country near Hill End. I used to work there so know all the roads which have been evacuated or burnt. It is hot, dry and windy so of course there is a total fire ban and people are on alert. Seeing it is a street I will enter it for Wide Wednesday. Thanks for hosting Bob. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.