ABSTRACT THURSDAY - BLACK AND WHITE

It’s a very grey day - and not even good enough for a black and white shot outside, so I decided to look around in the house.  Whilst making a cup of coffee, I suddenly thought that this crystal cut glass, which used to belong to my Mother, would make a very good abstract - and I’m even in tune with the theme for once!  

I put some water into the glass - and I must admit I do love drinking from this glass because it is made from a thin glass - and then put a black and white tin behind it and this was the result, so job done!  Of course, I couldn’t just leave it without a little bit of fartnarkling, so I used my Carbon app to put a border around it and then a black frame. 

It’s haircut day today, and I will be glad to get mine cut because it has got to that annoying stage, so we have an appointment with Anita at 1.45 p.m.

Hope you are all warm and safe - most of the snow seems to have gone now, it’s just lingering on the grass, but the bird feeders are being well used, especially by the blue tits and great tits, with the pigeons lurking about underneath, for any crumbs that may fall onto the ground.  

“Black and white is abstract; 
     color is not. 
Looking at a black and white photograph, 
     you are already looking 
          at a strange world.” 
Joel Sternfeld


P.S.  The bubbles are definitely water and not champagne - we have champagne flutes for that!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.