Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Oslo Airport

It was another early start to get to the airport in time for our flight home. After yesterday’s snowfall which lasted most of the day, today was bright and sunny in Tromso, not that the weather makes much difference to these pilots who fly in all conditions. When we landed in Oslo it was snowing heavily and was very foggy but we had an easy landing.

On checking the weather at home I noticed there were very strong winds. I realised then that they would probably cancel our flight from Oslo to London due to the winds, and as expected half an hour before boarding they cancelled our flight. We were booked onto a flight 2 hours later so we spent most of the day hanging around the airport, so I have not had any opportunities to take photos. I managed some photo editing while we were waiting. The flight was then delayed by another hour, and then eventually we were called to board our new flight, only to sit and wait on the runway for over 2 hours. I eventually got home more than 12 hours after I left the hotel in Tromso this morning, it has been a very long day of delays and frustrations. Due to all the delayed flights Heathrow airport was heaving when we landed and there were long queues at passport control but it did seem to move quite efficiently due to facial recognition check in.


I am very pleased to now be home, Gavin and Xena were very happy to see me, Xena went a bit crazy for a while and got so excited. I enjoyed my trip very much but it’s always great to be home again, having my own facilities and not living out of my suitcase. Gavin had kindly cooked supper for me and as I only got home shortly before 8pm it was very welcome. Unfortunately I could not zoom in for my camera club meeting.

I have now unpacked and it will be an early night tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.