Final day of skiing (Day 6)

When we woke up the skies were clear. By the time breakfast was over there was plenty of cloud. As we took the first lift up the mountain it was mostly cloud.
It was also very windy but snow temperatures were above freezing so the snow was getting softer and more mushy,
The circuit which had given us so much fun yesterday was rather different today. The longest slope had the wind howling up it. At one point, though my skis were definitely pointing down a slope, the wind was pushing me backwards up the slope!  Oh well, the differing conditions from day to day (hour to hour?) is part of what makes mountains interesting.
After a couple of hours it started to rain. Not so interesting when skiing. I popped into a bar for a beer, hoping the weather would improve, but it didn't, so I came back to the hotel.
I sent a message home to Jan saying my skiing was over for this trip and I'd survived uninjured!
Then it was time to pack. The alarm is set for 4:30 tomorrow morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.