pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Etiquette

The funk of yesterday was still partially in evidence today.

Sadly a trip into the office did little to lift it, but I ploughed on regardless. As part of a morale booster, the office had laid on hot dogs and beers, which on the face of it is a very nice thing to do, but as I walked through the office amongst those swigging a Bud with a ‘dog, I must confess that I felt a little uncomfortable.

I thought it was just me getting old, but I spoke to a couple of others who felt the same.

Managed to get through a meeting today with the big boss in attendance. Curious character and still can’t make him out, but he’s not shy about dropping a few “F-bombs” here and there. Again, not sure how I feel about that in the modern workplace, but maybe I am become a prude. Or just old fashioned.

I left mid-afternoon and finished the day working at home before collecting the wee ones. I cooked them a stir-fry, which I really enjoyed but went down like a lead balloon with them. To their credit, it’s not very often that they will turn their nose up at food, so I think I just need to stop trying with anything noodle-based!

We had quite a lazy evening watching the snow fall and then I let them watch the first half of the Transformers movie: Bumblebee and I was delighted that they loved it! Had it been a weekend, I may have felt inclined to let them watch the whole thing, but thought that I better not push it.

A nice end to an odd day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.