pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Keysy does it

I’m not a great one for booking and taking the lead on events.

I’ve become the person who usually when asked or invited to something says “yes” enthusiastically and then bows out at the last minute. However, months ago when I got wind and then heard that Tim Key was coming to Lancaster, and that he would be doing a show based on his books about lockdown (He Used Thought As A Wife and Here We Go Round The Mulberry Bush), a rare bout of pro-activism overcame me and I booked two tickets right there and then and then and there.

The thought of the gig kept me going today after a long drive for a short lunch in Louth, but it was ultimately worthwhile and I got to listen to the Mobbed Up podcast, which is thoroughly recommended.

LadyV (extras) wasn’t familiar with Mr Key’s oeuvre and was initially a little sceptical about going to see a poet, but she needn’t have worried as he was absolutely brilliant and so very very funny. I was taken with his absolute mastery of the audience and the fact that as we were filing in to take our seats (in a flippin’ boiling, The Dukes), he was prowling about the stage and eyeing the audience up. This is when I took today’s stunning main image.

He opened with one of my favourites he’d shared shortly after the first lockdown had been announced - in extras.

Total masterclass and I now want to be a comedy poet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.