pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

The last of the last of us

What a lovely day we’ve had! 

We were up to my sister’s this morning for a catch up and a lovely bit of lunch. The girls played nicely whilst m’boy and The Eldest chased their youngest cousin around the house. Despite being full of yet another cold, he was constantly smiling and didn’t stop moving. 

As part of her Star of the Week award, The Youngest was awarded a week with class mascot; Paddington, and needs to get some photos of her time with him. Following yesterday’s cricket action shot, we thought we’d get a family photo together too, which handily served as today’s blip too.

Then it was a quick march into town to buy for all of the mothers in my life - I think the current count is four - get some tea and get m’boy’s locks shorn before we lost him completely to a hippie commune. We had to try a different barbershop today as his regular one was rammed, but he seemed ok with it and they did a good job.

There was just about enough time for a quick five minute doze in front of the rugby (which we shall not speak of here) before LadyV and her girls arrived. For the most part, the children all played beautifully and only started getting cranky around tea time, so we fed them, swapped stories and then sat together to watch Ant & Dec - didn’t think it was quite as good this week.

In an idle moment, I was scrolling through my phone photos to find something for LadyV and as I looked through I was struck by how lucky I am to lead the life that I do. It is bursting at the seams with fun activities, lots of smiles and most importantly, so many lovely people. I’m a lucky fella.

Following her ladyship’s departure and the children were all down, I finished out a lovely day by watching the finale of knockabout farce, post-apocalyptic, zombie romcom thriller The Last of Us, which was great and seems to be all set up for the inevitable cash-in of a second season.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.