Again...

It has been another day of dealing with various things which had to be done, in the hope I can move quickly on (tomorrow would be nice) to things I want to do. 

No complaints obviously - yesterday was full on leisure and pleasure. 

None of today's activity took me anywhere interesting which would have prompted a Blip... except maybe the farm shop. I Blip it with monotonous regularity, of course. 

I did bump into a certain former First Minister there (no, not her) and he was smiling from ear to ear. 

My Blip is a wee project which is ongoing, but at a snail's pace. What to do with the photos, press clippings, football programmes and other assorted trivia which I inherited from my father. I really need to speak to Junior about whether I bin it, tackle the creation of albums with it, or just pass it to him as it is. 

Some items are wonderful. One of my favourites is the programme from the post match formal dinner for the England v Scotland universities international (football) in 1949. It was in the Royal Victoria Station Hotel in Sheffield. 

Entertainment came from the Cicely Murkin Trio, with gems like "Dicky Bird Hop". 

The main course was roast goose "à l'anglaise". I shudder to think...

It lists 5 toasts, each of which needed a response (obviously) involving worthies such as the Lord Mayor of Sheffield, the Vice Chancellor of the University of Sheffield, and the Master Cutler. I assume the last one is a Sheffield thing. 

They must have been there all night. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.