79 F

A visit with a 
very special person sure
did my heart some good

~carliewired

I was up just after 8 this morning. I spent the morning doing little jobs. I filled a shopping bag with veggies out of my refrigerator. It needs to be empty by Thursday morning when I expect to depart. I wrote a note on the bag for my neighbour with the tortoise and hung the bag on the fence between us. I hoped the contents might be of interest to his tortoise. (cabbage, carrots, celery and apples) I noticed the bag was gone later. 

I'd made a date with one of my favourite quilters in this world for this afternoon. Marilyn, now 95, was one of the first people I got to know in Yuma after I bought my house here in 2012. (Our Marilyn)

As I drove up to her house, I saw the most beautiful tree in her front yard. Marilyn tells me this a bottle brush tree. The downside of this tree is that it spreads red bits everywhere when it finishes blooming. At the moment, in full bloom, it is stunning. 

We had the most lovely visit. I haven't seen her for 3 years although we do keep in touch with letters. She is looking a bit frail and has greatly reduced her activities but she is still bright and humorous and able to relate events in great detail. 

I've been making my little quilted hearts to release starting tomorrow. I made a special one for Marilyn. I took her the bag of hearts that I'd finished to show her what I'd done. She hung the heart I'd made her on her hutch by the front door. 

I hope that Marilyn and I will have another visit in the fall when I return to Yuma. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.