Venus and the Moon

Venus, bright in the 
east and the moon shining in
the west - delightful! 

~ carliewired

I was out on my deck just after 6 AM trying to get a shot of Venus hanging over the east valley. The sky was clear, calm and it was a chilly -3 C. 

I guzzled my first coffee. It tasted really good this morning. I determined I needed to get out to find the sunrise over the river. I was off to Vantage Point by 6:30. 

I had the place to myself this morning. I've left my boots behind this week but I did need a toque on to keep my ears warm this morning. 
I looked downriver to the west to see the waning full moon reflected in the river. I heard a plop near the shore and looked over the railing to see a beaver floating along. It came out of the river beside the float plane dock. It seemed to be sampling the driftwood on the sand. What a nice surprise before sun up! I looked to the west to see a peachy colour spreading along the horizon and reflected in the river. I stood waiting for the sun to peek out. I caught it just as some dogwalkers came by. I can see their breath in the chilly air this morning. 

I picked up my breakfast with my second coffee and was back in my recliner by 8 AM. 

I'm home for the day and hope to share dinner with my daughter this evening. I need to work on some quilted hearts for release this week. 

We are expecting a day of mixed sun and cloud with a high 9 C. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.