Show People

So, less than two days after saying I was taking a break from amateur dramatics until next year, how did I find myself in the company of these luvvies last night?
Well, it’s all the fault of fellow blipper dunkyc. After heroically stepping into the breach when our dame fell ill in this year’s pantomime, he then went one step further and started writing a pantomime that could possibly be a future BATS production.
With the first draft completed, it was thought that it might be useful to invite a select bunch of people to do a table read and offer some feedback on the script.
Which is how I found myself trading innuendos and funny accents around the table in the Green Room at the Bryce Institute last night.
For a first draft, it really was excellent. The story - Ali Baba and the 40 Thieves - is well known, and all the elements were there. Obviously, being a Panto, there was a Dame, a Villain and assorted other goodies/baddies/comic characters and all were brought to life during the course of the evening. There was much laughter, and the overall length seemed to be about right. Obviously there are a few bits that will need fine tuning, but I reckon we have a solid basis for a damn good Panto here. I can honestly say that there are several parts I would be happy to play, and hope I will be successful when auditions take place in the autumn.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.