Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Where am I?

Today I went on a Festival recce with Sue and Frank. Sue will be leading her first festival walk and Frank and I will support her. She is a very competent walk leader already so have no fear if you want to join us for Corbridge Castles and Kilns. See extra for an outside view.

There is plenty of history on the walk, starting in the town of Corbridge with its ancient communal bread oven next to the church. Later we visit Aydon Castle and then Halton Castle. 

It's a fair pull up, but the roads and paths are easy terrain. The woods are delightful but were very muddy today.

I was disappointed not to find any coltsfoot on our route.

The kilns are fascinating. Walker's pottery opened in about 1840 and closed early in the 20th century. If you want to know more here is an interesting video about the restoration of the kilns.

I am tired and stiff, but delighted to complete the route. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.