Weather Blip

What a day! I was woken during the night by the noise of the wind - it managed to suck the window open! This morning when I was in the bath I heard the sound of a large wooden box being dragged down a gravel road, but it was only thunder, even if of a somewhat different tone. While I was at breakfast there was a sudden downpour - part rain, part sleet, but too wet to lie. Later on in the morning a great hailstorm began, with hail bouncing off the deck and flattening the Téte-a-Téte daffies outside the window - see extra.

This went on for a while, with the wind gusting too, until suddenly it became fairly quiet and the sky cleared. After lunch it was beautiful, fluffy white clouds, blue sky and a merely gentle breeze, so I went for  walk around the roads up at our level. Today's Blip is the view from Ardconnel Road across to Kerrera and the Mull mountains beyond.

A lovely walk, with a few chats, and it was hard to imagine what the weather had been like earlier, but as I  approached home half an hour later it began to rain. When I began to write this Blip it was raining hard, with the sun shining brightly in the background! Is it any wonder that we love to talk about the weather!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.