Mar 22

A view of Miners Marsh today.
I headed to the valley today and my first stop was at Miners Marsh. I haven't stopped there as much as I used to. Last summer, for some reason, the marsh dried up. Some people said it was due to the dry summer, but it has never been that bad before and it never filled up again until late November. Other years, it would fill up again in Sept/October after we had a couple of rain storms. They had done some work in the area and I think some of the drainage pipes were blocked, so there was no runoff going into the marsh. There is water/ice there now and we will see what happens this summer.
The geese are returning and pairing up, staking their claim to the prime nesting spots. The chickadees, sparrows and cardinals were around. I spotted the first red winged blackbird of the season and the first grackle. Soon the marsh will be filled with the songs of the red winged blackbird.
From there I went to Baxters Harbour, hoping to get some photos of the waterfall, but the tide was too far in, I couldn't get close to it. I stopped at the Lookoff for a few photos, then back to the valley to stop at my favorite farm markets. One of them has some caramelized onion cheddar cheese, which I think I could become addicted to, lol. Peaches loves it too, she likes any cheese. I only let her have a few crumbs though.
Another nice sunset tonight, but it is supposed to be cloudy and cooler tomorrow with some snow changing to rain in the afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.