The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

A small plough

...was delivered to our house today. My sister M, the one who is a woodland crofter in Argyll, had seen it on Facebook marketplace and asked me to pick it up from Slad, along the road. Unfortunately, we sold the estate car last year. Fortunately, the man who was selling it agreed to deliver it, which was good because otherwise I'd have had to hire a Steve with a van. Not the Steve I live with, because he hasn't got a van. But most of the people I know who have a van are also called Steve.

The plough, which is suitable for use with a pony or donkey, is now in our garden. I expect my sister will collect it some time. If not, it doesn't look out of place among the muddle of 'things that might be useful one day'.

This previously unexpected arrangement dictated the tone of the day. I got up after CS had left for the market; had mmy breakfast and bath;, set up laptop for Zoom; sat down to do a half-hour hypnosis session before the Zoom. Indie the cat, who had earlier been throwing up after gorging on Royal canin, was wandering around feeling lonely, but I persuaded her to settle on my lap. We drifted off together, only to be woken by a loud knock on the front door!

A parcel was delivered. Not the plough, no but a card order. I'd forgotten about it. Indie tried to eat the parcel tape. She is addicted to the glue. The Zoom class began, and we watched it. Managed to do a load of washing and hang it up outside, even.

Sorted out some of the cards, ran down to the Trinity Rooms to have a communal lunch, because that is my Friday thing. Saw one of the Steves, but when I turned around again, he was gone! Ran down to town, dropping off some cards on the way. Got money out for plough, booked a meeting room for three weeks'time for a group I run. Bought a magazine and tried to get a second hand map, because I am going away tomorrow. In one of the charity shops, the woman had no idea what an Ordnance Survey map was! She asked me if that was 'like Readers Digest'.
Am I incredibly old, or do people just not know basic things anymore?

Failed to find map, despite visiting same bookshop twice. Ran home. Bookshop then messaged to say they'd found a really good map. Waited for the plough-man. He delivered approximately on time, then because he mentioned his father-in-law now lying in the cemetery adjacent to our street, embarked on telling me his life story, which involved many early deaths and illnesses. Luckily CleanSteve came back just as we'd got to Severe Anaemia, and needed to park his car. Said hello/goodbye, ran down to bookshop to collect THE map. it is lovely, a brand new walking scale double sided Ordnance survey map, no less.

Sorted out the rest of the cards, packed them up for posting. Found some further printed info about Weymouth, Dorset, where I'm going tomorrow. Contacted a friend in North Dorset: we're going to meet up, if possible.

CS and I watched a quiz programme together, but he nodded off. Usually, one of us does! Sad, but true. Then I had to start packing for my trip. However, I'd forgotten that it's quite difficult to stuff winter clothing into a small suitcase. I've got it down to the small case and a full rucksack. Only one sweatshirt has had to be replaced by a thinner fleece.

CS cooked supper. I carried on packing. Now I'm back to where we started today: on the sofa, with Indie on my lap. Thank goodness for small pleasures.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.