Alstonefield - Milldale - Biggin - Hartlinton

We braved the weather for our walk today but we were pretty lucky and didn’t get too many showers. There’s a choice of three walks on these holidays and I chose the medium walk - 7.5 miles with 950 feet of climb. There were only 2 of us on this option plus the walk leader, which was very different to the longer walk with 12 people.

We walked through some lovely countryside - along the River Dove, along tracks, across fields, through villages, inside churches, a pub and a coffee shop at the end while we waited for the other three groups and the coach to take us back to base. Once the boots have been cleaned, I’ve had a bath and a cup of tea, and I’ll be ready to hear about the walks for tomorrow and then have dinner. I’ll sleep well tonight!

Edit: I’ve just seen this post https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/3086238239061706768 and it reminded me about the amazing rainbow we saw today from the coach. At times it looked as though it hit ground right on the road in front of us, and other times that we were going to drive right underneath it! We never did, of course, but it was the best rainbow I’ve seen in my whole life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.