Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Community Music School

Thank you for the unexpected love shown on yesterday’s selfie. I’m sorry I wasn’t able to thank you individually for hearts and stars. I kind of got lost in the feed. :(

As I was rummaging through some things I came across this framed postcard. There’s an arts section in the city of Buffalo called Allentown. That’s where you’d find eclectic shops, galleries and restaurants along with a vibrant music scene.

In an attempt to find someone to take my musical abilities to a higher level,  I attended the Community Music School on scholarship from the ages of 15-17. I studied under the Principal Trombonist from the Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra once a week. My mom supported me endlessly, and made sure that I was able to leave school early so she could get me there.

I thought this card was brilliant and can see why I must have framed it decades ago. More than anything, it’s a reminder to me of a mother’s love, trying to make her daughter’s dreams come true.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.