NEW BUS TIMETABLE

Today was supposed to be a " catch up day" and I had a list of things to do.  In the end not many of them got done.  I did do a load of washing and got up to date with the washing up.

My brother C phoned this afternoon and that knocked me off schedule.  He was on the phone for around 2 hrs.  Although it was good to hear from him he tends to talk and talk (about random stuff  that doesn't really interest me ) and doesn't get to the point.  He's autistic and the conversation is all about him and very self centred.  So I listened for as long as I could. He did get to the reason for his call..... he has run out of money to top up his electric. I did intend going to Newcastle tomorrow and he lives on the bus route ( sort of ) so I will break my journey, walk to his house, hand over some cash and continue to Newcastle.  Well that's the plan anyway.  He gets his benefits on Wednesday so he will be OK then.

I would normally get the 97 bus to Newcastle.  Its a bus service thats been running for years and years between Newcastle and the Metrocentre.   However as of today the 97 service is no more.  Withdrawn.  Replaced by the Coaster Number 1.  This new bus will run from Whitely Bay to Newcastle, then Gateshead , through my village and on to the Metrocentre.  From Newcastle to the Metrocentre it will cover the same route as the old 97.  Sounds OK on the face of it. But ... because the journey from Whitley Bay to the Metrocentre is scheduled to take 2 hrs 15 mins and will run through Newcastle city centre the likelihood of delays is high.  During the day it will run every 20 mins and early evening every  30 mins  - same as the 97 -  but later in the evening it will only be once an hour.   I suppose we should be grateful to have a bus service at all but time will tell if it will be a reliable one. ( And if I want a "scenic" trip to the coast this is the bus for me! ) I nipped out to the main road to take a couple of photos of the timetables .  Just to give me a bit of an idea of timings when I'm planning a journey.  I will still check the app as usual before leaving the house.

Steps today - 3,142

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.