Pferdeschorschi

By schorschi

Crocus & Narzissen

I think every year I'm amazed at how early the first crocus appears here. Last year these appeared on 13th March. But if I look back to 25th February 2011, they were just about to bloom.

There have always been and always will be exceptions, but in my mind there is no doubt winters are getting milder.

In the local shops, "English Narzissen" are on sale. The phrase is the German generic name for daffodils, sometimes also called "Field Narzissen". A few years ago they did come from England but nowadays, Holland. I have over the years followed this development on Blip. In 2020 they were €0.79, I didn't check in Corona years 2021 + 2022. The price this year is €0.55 as there is a sticker on the daffs themselves giving 30% reduction at the till. That is a record!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.