The 'Hoekermolen', Vreeland

'Hoeker' sounds like 'snooker' and not like 'hooker'.
'Hoek' means 'corner'.  If one looks at the map, one can clearly see a corner formed by a bend in the river.  Most likely, that's how the polder got its name.
'Vreeland' = 'VREYlant'.  'D' at the end of a word sounds like a 't'.  Always.

Indeed, the Hoekermolen is named after the polder it drains and maintains.  As early (or late?) as 1639, there was already a mill standing on this very spot, but it burned down in 1873.  This was constructed in 1874 to replace it.  Thankful it was facing the road today, and it is a very narrow, long, winding road, with little space to maneuver (and in several spots no space at all).  It looks cloudless here, but there were more than enough floating about, and I had to shoot in-between the traffic.  I had plenty of blue sky for the mill, as you can see, but the problem came every time a cloud blocked the sun.

As a matter of fact, the forecast for today was 'predominantly cloudy', so the fact that we had any sun at all was a pleasant surprise.  This also meant less traffic on the motorways.  To be sure, though, I consulted cloud radar every time, prepared for a Plan B, and left early because I had to make it back in time for the... notary public, and courthouse, and DHL.

Indeed, a late afternoon mail from the Viking yesterday meant an early call for an appointment today, scheduled at 15.30.  They know me very well by now, and the lady at the courthouse knows me very well, too, as do the DHL front desk folks.  Mimi has done some research and informed me some days ago that if one files a Motion for Reconsideration because a prosecutor's verdict is, shall we say, 'incorrect', the case doesn't get binned.  Instead, a new prosecutor is assigned to it.  In short, somebody's bribe money has once again gone down the drain, if indeed money changed hands under the table.  Maybe not, benefit of the doubt, but, in any case, it is not my loss.

The rest of the time?  Back to colouring.  Even more important, back to correction work in the evening, after kitchen duties.  And then... a TEAMS chat message from Gina -- she fell down the stairs yesterday and everything hurts.  It was horrifically late in the evening, but I was on alert straight away.  Several questions came up -- Do I need to take over the workshops?  Do I need to prepare a PowerPoint lecture?  Guilford Guy didn't have any for this week's classes.  This will be a bit of a blow for my planning as I also have to prepare for next week.  Definitely, it is too late to prepare for tomorrow's plenary.  Gina is being very brave and burning some late oil, but I do wonder how she's doing right now.

Thankful for fabulous weather today and chance for a drive!  The hunt has slowed down considerably, but never mind.  Thankful also that my work is all caught up.  Can't help somebody effectively if my own desk is cluttered.

A cheery 'Thank you' to all the guests who passed by yesterday!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.