An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Flower power...

Backblip

I think I've been given more flowers over the last two weeks than at any point ever.  That's not a complaint :-)

Started the day with a rather pleasing task...choosing what to wear to go to friends for dinner tomorrow.  I say a pleasing task because choosing an outfit wasn't always something I enjoyed as it tended to be whatever fitted, but as I continue to lose weight (deliberately :-) it's become less stressful and more enjoyable.  

I had already decided it would be smart jeans and dressy top so I selected three pairs of jeans and four tops to try.  Everything I tried on was too big!  I had a slight panic at this point then I remembered I bought a lovely green fluffy jumper last month that I knew would fit so I got that from the wardrobe and tried it.  Lovely...but within a minute I was very warm, and knowing Alan and Gail's house is usually cosy, I realised this would not be a comfortable option.  Back to the drawing board.  

David appeared and saved the day by saying "what about the two bags of clothes in the linen cupboard?"  I couldn't remember what bags he was talking about so he disappeared and returned a few minutes later with two vacuum sealed bags.  Great excitement!

Opened the first one, which contained a black winter jacket with a fleecy collar, a lovely spring/summer three quarter length coat in a beautiful red and cream fabric, and a light, showerproof Mac, as well as 12 pairs of jeans (all either brand new or only worn a couple of times) and a pile of white linen and stone coloured linen summer trousers!  They had been put away a few years ago, too small but deemed too good to give away and filed under One day I WILL get back into these!

The second bag was full of shirts and tops, casual and dressy, again put away when they were too small.  Some still had tags on them!  Well done remembering about these D!  Apparently he'd stumbled upon them the week before last when he was in the linen cupboard looking for his summer golf tops to take to Spain.  It was like Christmas morning!  :-))

Tried everything on.  Sadly the summer coat and winter jacket were miles too big but the showerproof Mac was perfect.  All the linen trousers fit, so no need to buy any summer trousers this year, and six out of the 12 pairs of jeans fit, the others again now too big.

All the tops fitted (woo hoo!) but a few of them were put in a pile labelled what was I thinking?!! LOL!  But best of all, one was perfect to wear tomorrow.  Win/win!

After lunch I had a video chat with my friend Alice.  So good to catch up with her.  

Dinner and some tv.  And that was Saturday :-)

PS Can't believe the clocks go forward later!! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.