A mystery solved

A mixed day today - some rain, some sunshine. Finished off my talk for tomorrow and discovered what this bulb is. I'd found it flowering out on the deck labelled 'Bulb' and didn't recognise it, so I put a picture on the Professional Gardeners' Guild Facebook page and I had a response in no time at all. It's apparently Scilla lilio-hyacinthus 'Albus',  the white form of a bulb which grows in woods and damp places on the slopes of the Pyrenees. I don't know where I got it from, but thank you, whoever you were!

My extra today is of another unusual bulb, but this time I know where it came from and what it is! It's Scilla mischtschenkoana, the Mishchenko or Misczenko squill, a bulb native to the South Caucasus and northern Iran. Why don't they invent names that ordinary people can pronounce!

The sun came out in the later afternoon, so I did a bit of pot weeding and top-dressing. Feeling quite spring-like today - almost good enough to sit out!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.