Hallaig

Another glorious day.

After breakfast we drove to North Fearns and then walked along the coast to Hallaig which was home to many families before it was cleared. Sorley MacLean wrote a poem commemorating this in Gaelic which he translated into English. Seamus Heaney also did a translation and visited the settlement.  It was poignant to visit it.

The walk took us along cliff tops which took me to the edge of my comfort zone (although in reality the path was broad with trees to break any falls). However I didn't take much persuasion to take the inland route back which involved tramping over boggy heather moors. Great fun and we think we spotted two eagles.

Back at hotel we enjoyed a distillery tour. Interesting as was the whisky but I did prefer the gin. 

Looking forward to our final dinner and back over to Skye tomorrow. 

I've really enjoyed Raasay and look forward to coming back. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.