pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

The crash

It was my last day before a much-needed week’s holiday today and it finished well.

The client who had left me this time last week had reversed their decision, realising that whilst what I was offering was a little more expensive, it was ultimately better at protecting her and would save her time and money in the long run. I was delighted and it actually felt more like a new customer coming on board!

There was some wrangling to do with others and things to box off, but eventually it all came together and by the end of the day, I was able to put my out of office on and sign-off. I felt so completely and utterly mentally exhausted that I could have cried. There must be an easier more enjoyable way to make a living.

I had intended to go for a long walk to clear my frazzled head, but simply did not have the energy to do so. I made it as far as the river and on seeing the evening sunshine hit the far bank and thinking “oh, that looks nice”, quickly snapped today’s blip. Realising that I had no feed in, I walked on to Marks & Sparks to get some tea for me and The Eldest. We had a bit of a catch up on my return before we both happily crashed on the sofa for some good TV and a giggle along with Gogglebox. 

Immediately thereafter I dragged myself to bed and happy in the thought of the coming weekend and 10 consecutive days of no-work, promptly passed out. 

Happy weekend all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.