Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Shocking!

A bit of an easy shot today since there are downy woodpeckers all over our woods and frequently at the feeders.  I always like it when I get their little head feathers raised - definitely adds to the cuteness factor.  

This morning I awoke to the signs of a bear having visited last night.  Both feeders were at the edge of the woods, one destroyed but the other salvageable.  I knew I was on borrowed time and should have started bringing the feeders in at night several weeks ago.  Oh well.  Life in the country.  In other news, I've been hearing a red-shouldered hawk lately - haven't seen it yet but suspect it may have a nest somewhere in the woods.  

My besties are arriving this afternoon, minus Ellen who's come down with something.  I am hoping she recovers quickly from whatever it is - cold, covid, flu?  And we will have to plan another weekend soon.  

I set up some scent hides in the basement this morning for Jax.  We are currently only working with the birch scent and may continue just with that since I'm not planning to compete him.  He really loves it so much and the minute he knows we are "playing" he goes into full scent mode, ignoring everything else.  I worked with him today without treats and I can't see that it made any difference in his enthusiasm. 

I will be indulging in home made brownies with ice cream later so won't dip into the dark stash today.

Have a great weekend!
xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.