Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Additive

(3/4/23)

It's been exactly a week since we sat in the reception of the Peugeot garage whilst the workshop manager had one last attempt to fix the a/c fan problem. I'm happy to record that the issue is finally fixed. It's just the air-conditioning to tackle now.

I missed the Palm Sunday service in the morning that Miriam and I were supposed to be at. There is such a backlog it's hard to know where to start. To add to the dilemma, I spotted a leak in the living room ceiling. It's bizarre, as there are no pipes where the leak is, so the upstairs flat has some real issues. Why do these things always happen at the weekend?

Anyway, around 4 PM, I decided I needed to get out of the flat, so I took the recycling and headed towards G's school. I filled the car as well, only to be told I could do with putting some additive as well. I agreed. Once done, you need to drive at high speed for around thirty minutes so that the chemical can get into the engine. I have to say - it does greatly improve the mileage, hence my blip. And I got to do one thing I LOVE - driving and listening to music loud. Today, it was Sara Groves.

I ended up at Icons in Wafi for a saffron tea, followed by a shop at Carrefour. Miriam needed some things, as did I. I also called at an optician to see about repairing the frame of my spare pair of glasses, which have been my main pair since the pandemic. I have to find opticians who have a technician on site.

The best part of the day was delivering Miriam's shopping to her. She was mobile and met me in the lobby of her hotel. She treated me to dinner at the newly opened Turkish restaurant, which has stunning views with the city on one side, and the sea on the other. (I left the camera in the car). I even had a go at eating a medium-rare steak. Gosh, the things you are willing to try, given the right conditions. I got home before midnight, much later than I intended, but thrilled at how the evening turned out. The breeze was so fresh and cold, we sat with a fleece blanket whilst having dinner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.