Lacock Abbey NT (Monday 3rd April 2023)

Having been shopping in Melksham in the morning and enjoying the springlike weather I went up to the boat house to eat my sandwiches in the company of the resident male swan. I could see his partner sitting on a nest a little way away where there is no public access, so she should be able to hatch her brood undisturbed.

From Melksham I was able to drive north up to Lacock without crossing the bridge over the Avon that I had found flooded and had blipped the day before. It was a bright and sunny day but I soon discovered as I entered Lacock Abbey NT that it was also the first day of the Easter school holidays with all the fresh hell that brings.

As usual I made first for the Rockworks in hope of seeing the village Smokey cat. There was no sign of her again so I suspect I have seen the last of her. Their collection of snake's-head fritillaries was out and I took a number of shots of them (one in Extras). Above the deep pool a pair of buzzards were teaching aeronautics to three young fledglings and mewing. A heron was standing in the flood water beyound the grounds amidst some algae (just visible in the blip behind and between two branches near the bottom of the tree).

Despite the extent of the visible flooding I could see some cars in the distance approaching the bridge that had been closed and found it had completely cleared when I drove home that way.

L.
Tuesday 4.4.2023 (1306 hr)

Blip #3844 (#3594 + 250 archived blips taken 27.8.1960-18.3.2010)
Consecutive Blip #002
Blips/Extras In 2023 #054/266 + #034/100 Extras
Day #4755 (1170 gaps from 26.3.2010)
Lozarithm's Lozarhythm Of The Day #2984 (#2824 + 160 in archived blips)

Lacock series
River series
River Avon (Bristol) series
Landscape series
National Trust series

Lacock Abbey NT, 3 April 2023 (Flickr album)(Work in progress)

Lozarithm's Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Richie Havens - Rocky Raccoon (1968)
Most of the 45 rpm singles I used to collect have been traded in and replaced with CD versions, but I have not yet been able to find a CD that has the single of this on it. It was made during the sessions for Richard P. Havens, 1983 but not included on that double album.
I don't understand vinyl's return to popularity as I couldn't wait to get away from the clicks, pops, bumps, sibillance and surface noise of the medium, not to mention turntable rumble, wow and flutter and all the faff with styluses and belt drives.
Having just posted versions of two Richie Havens songs I thought we should hear from the man himself, who was also a great interpreter of other people's songs, as here on Paul McCartney's composition from the The Beatles (aka The White Album). Richie Havens released at least two versions of Rocky Raccoon and this live version from American television uses the arrangement used on the 1968 single on the Verve label that I am looking to replace.

One year ago:
Still Life

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.