Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Pond politics

I took Xena to Esher Common today for a walk and thought I would check up on the pair of swans that recently settled on the lake. As I got near the lake I saw the Canadian Geese on the path next to the lake, I have never seen them there before as there are many dogs that walk along that path and they are not used to dogs. Then I realised why they were on the path - the swans were being so aggressive, chasing all the water birds out the lake. As we approached and the geese saw Xena they quickly got back onto the water, but the swans came over with their wings up and were hissing at the geese who quickly moved to the other side of the lake - the swans must have a nest with eggs to be so protective. The poor geese were having a hard time today, and they have lived on this lake for a long time but have now been usurped by the newcomers.

I went to return a John Lewis parcel to Waitrose and then came home and waited for a delivery for Gavin. After much research and thinking about it for a while, Gavin has ordered himself a drone. I admit I encouraged this purchase, as it means when I am taking photos he can have some fun flying the drone. I have never been interested in getting one myself, I have enough to carry around with my photography so its rather good that he has become interested in drone photography. He needs to do the courses and ensure he knows how to fly it properly. 

We leave home early tomorrow morning to drive to Norfolk. We are stopping off in Cambridge to meet Tommy for breakfast - he has exams very soon and is therefore not spending Easter with us as he is studying. Luke and Adam will be joining us in Norfolk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.