If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Germander Speedwell ( Veronica chamaedrys )

Our village church is huge, I suspect it would have seated almost as many as the cathedral.  Obviously, it would cost a fortune to heat to a comfortable level, so a cunning plan has been developed.  The south aisle has no pews so a large "party tent" is erected there for the winter months, this can be made quite cozy for services.  To make it bigger this year our small marquee was erected on the end.  Today we were taking it down.  When we finished I had a walk round the churchyard looking for blips.  There were lots of Lichens but I didn't have time to try to identify them.  Then I spotted this.

This is the first Speedwell I have seen this year and I only saw one other .  They are an excellent source of nectar for insects.  The name Speedwell is thought to be because in times past it was believed to speed travellers on there way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.