A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Easter preparation.

Easter Sunday is the day for celebration, chocolate eggs and flowers but someone has to make the preparations for the ‘joyous eastertide’ after the solemnity of Good Friday and Holy Saturday.

I made my flower basket out in the garden yesterday and wanted to take it to church this morning, the church looked very stark with the altar stripped from Thursday evening.

As we were about to leave the lady who does the church flowers arrived so we gave her a hand unloading her car. Asking if she needed any help, Chris attached this circlet of daffodils to the bare cross and I refreshed the altar pussy willow stems and added some Easter lilies which were apparently £3 a stem! Chris left and I did a few other jobs for her but when the second lady arrived and started making coffee I made my excuses as we had a bus to catch into Bingley later. 
After a cool start the sun was out and we’ve had another glorious sunny and quite warm day.

It was the Easter Eggstravaganza in the town’s Market Place today.  More stalls than I can remember from previous occasions and donkey rides! Didn’t have much time to look around as we were singing at 1.00 pm.

Our first gig of the new season and it seemed to go well. Corinthian Column was watching as she has a croaky voice and she added an extra on her blip with us singing. I’ve made a collage to show a bit of the atmosphere, obviously you can’t take a picture of your self singing!

Think I should have taken a closer look at the stall called The Yorkshire Pud Bakery - top left above our choir master.

This afternoon Chris has cut the grass for the first time so summer must start here, but I’m quite happy to see a bit of real Spring at last.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.