Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A wonderful day in Norfolk

I was awake to see if there was a sunrise, but there was some cloud cover so I tried to go back to sleep and did not really succeed. A little later it became sunny and as it was high tide I went down to the harbour at Brancaster Staithe to see the light, and it was very active with kayakers and paddle boarders taking advantage of the high tide. The light was beautiful on the reeds, which is when I took this photo. 

I went home for breakfast and saw Adam off as he had decided to go for a swim at Brancaster Staithe, he believes in the benefits of cold water swimming and has a cold tub on his patio at his home which he immerses himself into every morning as he wakes up. The water temperature was about 7C when he went off for a swim, no wetsuit, but he was only in for about 15 minutes. He says it sets him up for the day and makes him very productive with a clear mind!

After breakfast we went to Brancaster beach to walk Xena, she absolutely loves chasing after the ball on the soft beach sand. It was busier than usual due to the Easter weekend but not over crowded. After she had a good walk and run around, we drove to Burnham Overy Staithe where we saw some young people going for a swim in the cold water - see extra. We then came home, and got some lunch from the crab shack. 

With Xena happily sleeping after her active morning we drove to Heacham Manor Golf course where Gavin, Adam and I played 18 holes of golf. It was the first full round of golf I have played in about 20 years, and it was very enjoyable. The course was a links course, very open with no tree cover, and although today was sunny and bright there was a cold wind, and hitting your ball into the wind was not easy. I played some very good shots but played many more duff shots - oh well, it's all practice and a good learning exercise. Adam played so well, he can drive about 300 yards compared to my 100 yards! We saw so much wildlife on the course - muntjacs, hares, pheasants, ducks and geese.

After we got home from the golf I was ready to just slump on the sofa but instead I went down to the harbour to photograph the sunset - see extra.There were two other photographers there and we chatted about local photo locations.

Luke has now arrived and we are about to eat supper. It is lovely to have both boys here. It has been a very active day. I did about 26000 steps today, I am sure I will sleep well tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.